Our Stories

2019 San Francisco International Wine Competition

The SFIWC is one of the largest—and most influential—wine competitions. Now celebrating its 39th year, it’s one of the oldest international wine competitions in the world. Year after year, the SFIWC takes great pride in maintaining The Tasting Alliance’s commitment to these three founding principles: legacy, integrity and experience.

Throughout three days of highly controlled blind tastings, the experienced judging panels taste every wine to decide if it is medal-worthy. Judges do not receive any information on producer, ensuring each wine is judged fairly, equally, and without bias. While tasting, judges evaluate each wine on an individual basis—not compared to other entries in the flight. During this stage, judges determine which entries are worthy of a Gold, Silver, or Bronze medal. Entries that receive a Gold medal from all judges on a panel earn a Double Gold medal.

Here are the results for our wines:

Clos Marey-Monge Monopole 2017Double Gold Medal

The Double Gold Medal is “awarded to the very few entries that receive a Gold medal rating by all members of the judging panel; these are among the finest wines in the world.”

Clos Marey-Monge Monopole 2016Silver Medal

Nuits-Saint-Georges 2017: Silver Medal

The Silver Medal is awarded to “outstanding wine that shows refinement, finesse, and complexity; these winners are among the best examples of its particular category.”

About the San Francisco International Wine Competition
Founded in 1980, the SFIWC is one of the oldest competitions of its kind. With over three decades of experience, our operation has become a fine-tuned masterpiece that blends passion and professionalism.
To visit the Château de Pommard website, you must be 21 years or older.
By entering this website you are agreeing to our terms and privacy policy.